Editing imported audio files/takes in Cubase (Beginner questions)

Hi,

I’m a classical musician playing with the demo version of Cubase. I never used any DAW yet, so forgive my very basic questions - but I didn’t find any accurate answer in the web or YouTube. Also forgive my English, I’m French :wink:

What I want to do is to be able to “fix” minor interpretation issues using multiple takes of the same piece. I’m doing a lot of early music and some instruments are sometimes hard to manage – some notes are sometimes too high/too low, some chords sound not good, etc. In my idea, the easier thing to do would be to choose the “best” take, then search for the mistakes in this take and “replace” them by fragments copied from other ones.

I don’t have any kind of “home studio”. Usually we’re just using a Zoom H4n to record us, and we got a new WAV file for each take we make. As a result, I cannot use Cubase “cycle recording” but have to import manually my takes in the project (it seems the way to proceed !). Moreover, each take - while sharing the same tempo - have it’s own slight tempo variations, which seems to introduce some complications in the usage of the “Comp” tools.

Which methodology would you use ? The “Lanes” features would be ideal to compare and create the perfect take, but it seems that using takes not perfectly temporally “aligned” defeat its purpose. In this case, copying and pasting parts from/to the different takes seems the only way to proceed. But is there some smart tools that would help me to know the best location where a take can be cut for instance, or better, something can locate the same global “fragment” of the sound in the alternates takes to perform the replacement?

I’m not sure that Cubase is the best tool for me… I mean, it seems a superb piece of software but I won’t use all the MIDI features and so on. I just want to do sound editing. Maybe I should use a “lighter” product?

Thank you for your answers.

Best regards,

Adrien

Hello,