Error Message: PluginChecker.exe has stopped working

Hi all, I’m new to wavelab. Running all the latest updates for Wavelab 7 (7.0.1) and Waves Platinum (V7r16). Upon scanning of the plugins on start up, Wavelab displays message " PluginChecker.exe has stopped working". Then Wavelab gets hung up loading the waveshells. Where should the waveshell files be placed for wavelab to see them. I’m running on windows 7, 64-bit. AMD 2.8 Ghz Quad with 6GB Ram. In Summary, I’m trying to load waves platinum into wavelab 7. How do I do that ?

PluginChecker is a very small program executed by WaveLab when scanning plugins. Normally, this crashes only if the plugin crashes. This could be the case eg. if the Waves plugin don’t find their iLok protection.
I simply advise you to try again.
As far as your iLok and Waves are properly installed, this should work.
Notes that Waves plugins can takes several minutes to be scanned. You need to be patient.

Hi PG, thank you for your reply. I asure you that the ilok key is installed and up to date. I am running pro tools 8.04 and the waveshell loads fine with my ilok. I also am aware of the lag time during the plugin scan of the waveshell during the first load. However, there is no lag time here. It just does not load. Just to make sure, I let it sit overnight, over-kill I know, but I just wanted to prove a point. Result, nothing, the program is frozen and stuck at the waveshell load. Where exactly should the waveshell files be located. There are two waveshells,(WaveShell-VST 7.1.dll and WaveShell-VST3 7.1.vst3). Please help.

Thanks…

Hello,
if you wanted to know where the Waveshells are (at least in my case, perfectly working):
C:>Program Files>Steinberg>VstPlugins
Hope this helps
Progetto3.png

Try to keep only the .vst3 file. Rename the DLL as DL.