EWQL PLAY: Error Creating Plugin Window - HELP!

Hey everyone,

I just bought Cubase 5 (if C6 comes out anytime soon, I’m gonna be mad), and the first thing I tried to do was load up EastWest’s PLAY library, having also recently purchased their Complete Composer’s Collection. Of course, it didn’t work.

Specifically, it wouldn’t load the plugin window, so I couldn’t do anything within the plugin.

Here is the message I sent to Steinberg support, but they haven’t replied. I’m pretty frustrated because I need to get music done (I’m a film composer) for clients across the country. Any help would be extremely appreciated!

While attempting to open EWQL PLAY vst64 on an instrument track in Cubase 5.5.2, I receive this error message, quoted verbatim:

“PLAY: Error Creating Plugin Window:
Widgets must be created in the GUI thread. Please contact Tech Support!”

After clicking “OK” (the only option), the message disappears and I am left with a blank, white plugin screen - and no PLAY.

Since the first time I attempted to load the VSTi, this error message appeared. I was running the 32-bit version of this plug-in (as well as the both 32 and 64-bit stand-alone versions) without any problems on Cubase AI4, and am at a loss to explain why it would fail so completely on a newer DAW. I tried it on an older version of Cubase 5, to no avail - I received the same message. Of course, I have restarted my computer multiple times, among other standard Win7 fixing attempts, and nothing has worked.

My system specs are as follows (everything else works great, and the stand-alone version of PLAYx64.dll works like a charm):

Windows 7 64bit
Intel Quad-Core i5 @ 2.67ghz
4GB RAM
TASCAM external audio mixer + VIA HD internal Sound Driver
Yamaha Motif XS
ATI 5770 1GB
ASUS Pro Mobo
SATA 6gb/s (500 GB + 1TB)