Experiencing mic disconnection...

Hi, I’m really new to recording. I’ve put a lot of effort into getting enough money to buy only the basic gears required in recording.

My devices are: U46XL USB audio interface and a Perception 120.

I’ve done a lot of surfing on the internet to get everything connected right and I’m kinda sure I have everything in the right place, but I’m exeriencing a problem: Everytime I try recording with a guitar and mixing it in a vocal track, my microphone only doesn’t seem to pick up any sound and then it suddenly catches everything. In other words, the sound seems to keep exploding. I am really frustrated and I don’t know what to do.

And also, why is it that I can only hear my reverb effects while I’m recording and not after? Isn’t it supposed to be the other way around?!

Somebody, PLEASE!

I’m not entirely sure what you are doing here. Do you mean that you are recording a guitar first and then recording the vocal ? If you are recording the guitar, and using the reverb you must make sure that the reverb is in the direct line to the recording channel. If you send to reverb then although you may hear it in the output channel it is not going to the recording channel. A simple way would be insert reverb in input, route this to an audio channel and turn on the monitor button.

As regards the mike, if you are set up right then you should hear the sound before recording, using the monitor (don’t let the monitor sound get back to the input or there will be feedback). The level indicators in the mixer will show if the sound is reaching the right places.

If you need a more detailed answer, you will need to be more specific about what you are doing, what with and how everything is connected.

You’ve probably got something in the wrong order for the type of recording you are doing.

Sometimes I find that a simple diagram on a scrap of paper will help set things up when a complicated arrangement of connections is being made.