Export Volume issue

I am a newbie, so my question may be very basic. I have Cubase 5.5.3 (full version) and using Wave Lab element 7. I create a project in Cubase 5 and when I do an analysis my wave on tracks average out at a certain level…let’s say -22DB. When I export the project to a wave and then look at the level in Wavelab, without fail the analysis of the levels shows an increase of about 2.5DB.

I have check all setting (everything at zero) and tried all export settings in cubase and yet…I always get a volume increase while exporting (When read in Wavelab or re-imported in Cubase). Any suggestions?

First of all: your description isn’t accurate enough to analyze your problem:

• “analysis my wave on tracks average out at a certain level” … “average”? you mean RMS? or average peak value between individual tracks?
  • “tracks”? are this individual instrument tracks being mixed down or “tracks” as “songs”?
    OK. Now I’m going to make assumption: “average” means average peak values of individual tracks and “tracks” are different instruments being mixed down: THEN … it’s completely normal your dB value rises. Mixing down is about ADDING individual tracks together … and last time I checked out ADDITION could result in greater numbers than the values being added are. You know: 1+1 > 1.

Jarno,

Thank you for your reply. I guess what I am talking here is about one wave file one human voice.(voice over) When I do an Global analysis in Wave Lab under “Average Loudness” I get an average let’s say of -20db. When I bring the same voice-track into Cubase, highlight it all and run “Statistic” Average RMS, I get approx a -2.5DB diffrence for the same track. Do it take it then that the analysis under Wave Lab-Global Analysis- and Cubase-Statistic- when measuring average RMS work in different ways?