Exported wav/MP3 files play back slower than they should ?

I am new to Cubase Elements 10.5, and am having some problems exporting files in WAV or MP3 format.

Exported tracks are playing back noticeably slower than they should, with all the ramifications that such a problem creates relative to timing and pitch.

The default Cubase export settings are: 44.100kHz /32 bit.

The default Windows 10 ‘Sound’ settings for Windows Media Player, which is being used to play the exported tracks are 48,000Hz / 24 bit.

Obviously there is a mismatch, but not being any sort of expert, I do not know, what to alter, or even if anything needs to be altered.

Notwithstanding, and being thoroughly cheesed off, I altered the Cubase export settings to match the Windows ‘Sound’ settings, but it made no difference to the exported file. It was still playing back slower than it should have done.

Examining the Windows Sound settings revealed that there are no 32 bit options, only 24bit and 16bit. The only 48,000Hz option was for 24bit. So there was no way to alter Windows ‘Sound’; settings to match the Cubase export settings.

I had a look in the Cubase ‘Pool’ and saw the audio tracks were 44.100kHz /16 bit, so I altered the export setting to match, but again no difference, the exported file played back slower.

I then muted the Cubase audio tracks/events and just tried to export the Groove Agent percussion tracks, just for the fun of it really, but no matter what settings I used, the exported file played back slower than the initial Cubase recording.

Not being a PC/IT expert, I am now wondering what options I might have to sort this problem out, if indeed it is sortable ?

Hopefully somebody will be able to point this numbskull in the right direction.

I have used Cubasis VST4 for many years, until the onset of Windows 10, and never encountered this type of problem.

Any ideas, would be most welcome.

This is Nothing you´d need to be a PC or IT expert. It´s Basic Audio Engineering.