Expression Map Category Folder/Collapsible group

It would be very useful (and easy to implement!) to have folders/Collapsible groups in the category list (left side) of the Expression Maps editor. I already have too many expression maps loaded and I am pretty sure many others do.

GUI: At the button, we can have new icons to create, delete ( of course empty folders/collapsible group), rename the folder/group, and import and export into or from it.

Thank you.

5 Likes

Its an idea I could get behind.

I’m LOL about the “It would be easy to implement.” I’m not saying its hard, I’m just reminiscing about a few Customer/SME I would have liked to smack when I was a young programmer.

1 Like

A very reasonable request. I believe it’s been made before, and this won’t be the last time I add my voice to it.

The GUI for organizing Playing Techniques, Playback Techniques, Expression Maps and Playback Templates could definitely use some work to make organizing things more systematic and user friendly. And the GUI for making them work together could also be improved.

The Dorico team has put in a ton of work to provide and enhance the tools Dorico now includes, and I’m sure more is in the works. Some work on user organization would make that work pay off beyond the provision of those tools.

I’m sure Daniel and the team are aware of this, with the usual qualification that it must be prioritized among other requests.

There are many expression maps that I am afraid to import them all. Also, many that I am creating from scratch! I import them as I need them. But I wish I could import them all and organize and use them in my compositions. This kills my inspiration and motivation for writing. Thankfully, I don’t make money off of music composition!

Would be nice whenever they implemented!