Expression marks and technique text

Semi-newbie here. I’m an old hand with Finale, nearly 30 years experience, so I’m hardly a newcomer to notation software. I downloaded Dorico a while ago, and have been too busy to try to learn it till now. For about a month now I’ve been practicing Dorico with a short orchestration I did last summer. At this point, I think I’ve gotten most of the basics figured out, but there are still a couple of issues that stymie me.

First, expressive text. I would like to enter a simple “espress.” marking, not attached to a dynamic. Possibly I’m just reading the directions wrong, or overlooking something simple, but I cannot get the expression to appear in the score. I’m using the dynamics popover, and start by typing simply “espress.” but nothing appears in my score. I’ve also tried entering “p espress.” and going to the properties panel to hide the “p.” Same result, nothing appears. So what am I missing?

A similar problem with the technique text popover. At several points, I would like to enter such marks as “1 solo,” “2 soli,” “tutti” and so on, but if I type the text in the popover window, it simply dissappears when I hit Enter. “Pizz.” and “arco” show up with no problem. Again, is there something I’m missing?

Dan Powers

Welcome to the forum, Dan. The dynamics and playing techniques popovers are not strictly speaking inputting text: they will only input “real” dynamics and playing techniques.