Feature Request: Automatically Hide Chord Symbols in Empty Bars

Hello all,

I am brand new to Dorico and the Forums (just bought Dorico about a week ago, coming over from 15 years of Sibelius use so the learning is slow but enjoyable). I have searched all over, and have yet to find a simple/efficient answer to this problem.

I work primarily arranging/orchestrating for a 9 piece funk/pop/jazz band (5 horns + Rhythm), which means I am finding the approach to chord symbols in Dorico both amazing, and frustrating. I love that the chord symbols are universal and so the chords only need to be entered once and exist in the data for all instruments, but by default they appear in empty bars and break multi-rests for instruments who aren’t playing.

Right now as far as I can tell, the only way to hide the chord symbols when an instrument is not playing, is to manually select the chords and hide them. I would like to propose an option to automatically hide chord symbols if the measure has no notation data. I believe that this would save a LOT of time in jazz/pop workflows.

Welcome to the forum, daltnjazz. Please see the documentation about chord symbol regions, which should help you a good deal.

Hi Daniel,

Thank you so much for the response, I understand the use of chord symbol regions, which seems more to exist for adding changes for solo sections for horns etc. who would primarily never need the chords anywhere else.