Feature request: scaleable UI, user templates

Hey all,

after a few days, I am in many respects already beginning to feel more comfortable using Dorico than Sibelius (which I have been using for almost 15 years). I think it shows tremendous potential and promise, and it’s easy to see that this is going to be a better composition tool than Sibelius ever could be. Meterless input: YES! Insert mode: Finally! The ease of writing multiple voices? Great!

There is, however, one thing that I found a little annoying on my (granted- it’s not up to the required spec) 15 inch 2011 MacBook Pro’s screen with 1440x900 resolution: The UI, as clean and good-looking as it is, takes up too much screen real estate for my tastes. I seem to have read somewhere that Dorico uses some kind of engine that makes scaling of the UI possible, but that the developers chose to go with a fixed size. I’d be really happy to be able to resize the UI, so it better fits smaller screen resolutions.

And, I can only guess that this is going to come sooner or later: The ability to easily build your own templates for the ensembles you normally write for. I’m sure that is easily implemented, since the templates are most likely stored in an XML or JSON file. I don’t know if this has been covered in other comments, but all the other things I could wish for have been written about by others or are in the pipeline, so there’s lots to look forward to…

Best
DonMusic

Your screen resolution is towards the lower end of what we thought would be usable.

If you haven’t already, it’s probably worth memorising the key commands to hide and show the panels to give you as much room as possible for the music. Cmd-0 is the best one, as it hides all the panels (except the toolbar at the top, which you can hide manually).