Final Cut OMF

I am trying to import an OMF file generated by Final Cut. Everything seems to work fine but the volume automation. They are not 100% accurate. If I open the same OMF with Audition the volume envelope on the clips are perfect.
It has probably something to to with the fact that Nuendo converts the clip volumes into fader volume automation.
Does anybody knows if there is a solution to this?
I don’t want to fix all the automation by hand, it would take ages.
Thank you.

I have no real experience with your problem because I always redo automation. But have you considered looking at what the offset is? If the offset is consistent perhaps you can simply nudge back all automation into place?

HI

We do a lot of FCP OMF to Nuendo … but I’m sorry to say … we usually pay no attention to the editors FCP levels. We always have a track with the FCP mix down for reference and usually the translated FCP levels are in the ball park. ( I usually strip out all the existing levels right off the bat and clean up all the tracks etc)

Are the FCP 100% accurate? I couldn’t say … but I doubt they would be.

Sorry I can’t give you a solution. There might not be one.

Lee

Unfortunately, this is not the case.

I understand your point. In fact very often the volumes done by the editors are a mess anyway. But still, I really feel that they should be imported correctly into Nuendo, since a program like Audition can do it with no problem.
In this particular case I need the volumes done by the FCP editor and it is not pleasant to work with the director next to you and have to fix all the errors.

Yes, it’s definitely an issue & from what I hear, this will be improved in a future update of Nuendo. We’ll see.

Can someone from Steinberg comment on this?
OMF is very important in order to interact with other studios. It has to be perfect. OMF is going to be what allows me to stay with Nuendo. It is painful to see a much cheaper program like Adobe AU to import an OMF perfectly.