Finale and Dorico comparison

I’m a choir conductor in Spain. I have been using Finale intensevily, to prepare the scores for my choir (full score, particellas and mp3) I have edited more than 100 scores in Finale, many hours a week during 12 years. So I have a lot of experience with Finale.

Music is my passion, but I earn my living working on IT projects, and giving support for all kind of software and hardware. So I Iook at music notation software from both views, music and software technician.

2 months ago I tried Dorico, and it was love at first sight. But I had doubts if the effort to move to Dorico was reasonable, bearing in mind my experience with Finale accumulated over years. Finaly I decided to buy Dorico Pro and now I am importing all my Finale scores to Dorico.

These are my conclusions:

— THINGS I LIKED —

I love the user interface. Everything is much more powerful, easy to use and intuitive. Windows with the views I need can be easily organized, moved, dragged, or zoomed in/out.

Key comnands are wonderful. I can easily assign to keys the tasks I use often.

Amazing how easy I can introduce nuances in the playing of the score (time changes and dynamics)

Writing lyrics is much more easy.

Music input with the keyboard is better.

Toolbars are well organized and distributed in the screen.

Manuals and video tutorials are excelent. Whenever I look for something I find it in a moment.

There are miriard of options in the layout, engrave and play that can be easily been found and adjusted.

Piano roll views are a big advantage. Finalle doesn’t have it.

Master pages are wonderful. They allow me to adjutst all the parts and full score consistently.

I like the modes Write, Engrage, Play, Setup. I allows to concentrate on what you need when you are working.

Comments are very easy to add and view. I miss to be able to add them independently of one staff, for instance in the lines that divide bars, or in the title of the song…

Tokens are wonderful