Finally! Move Cycle Locators to next part - How To

hi all,

i have been asking how to do this on this forum for several years. no-one has figured out how to do this, and there is no Key Command in Cubase to “Move Cycle Locators to next part”. It is a big part of my workflow as i like to build up tracks by adding many tracks to one looped 32 beat section, building up my track with many layers, then moving to the next 32 beat section and adding more tracks and sounds and loops. Its clunky currently to keep moving the cycle locators around. heres how to jump the locators around to the right and left with one key!

create macro called “Move Cycle Locators to Next Part”
1:/ Transport - To Right Locator
2:/ Transport - Set Left Locator
3:/ Locate Next Event
4:/ Set Right Locator
5:/ Transport - Locate Previous Event

create macro called “Move Cycle Loctators to Previous Part”
1:/ Transport - To Left Locator
2:/ Transport - Set Right Locator
3:/ Transport - Locate Previous Event
4:/ Transport - Set Left Locator

then go to the “Macros” section of the Key commands, find your two new commands and assign them to a key. i have assigned them to < and > keys (to the right of n and m on the keyboard) so i just tap the arrow left or right, and my cycle locators jump over!

The great thing about this macro is that if you are working on a 16 beat part that is looping, the macro will jump the locators across to the next 16 beats. but if you are working on a 32 beat loop, it will jump to the next 32 beat loop! awsome!

Cheers!
Blackout

It’s even easier than that. Macro Right Arrow to select next event and P to set Locators To Part.

two keystrokes are easier than one single keystroke?

sorry. theres no “select next event” key command. (i wish there was it would have made things a lot easier a long time ago for me)

and the right-arrow for me MOVES the selected part to the right.