focusrite weak audio output

I am a new cubase 9.5 pro user. I am trying to get a suitable out put from my focusrite 2i4. I updated all drivers. I am using a shure SM 58 as an all around medium mic. directly into Focurite, then using the signal USB into Computer (windows 7 with updated drivers, Asio).
The monitor signal coming from the Focusrite into the headphones is very weak also, not correctable enough in focusrite.

Cubase set to Focusrite input. Problem is that the Audio output into Cubase track is very weak and almost invisible wave form within the track. I need to know what I can do to get a larger waveform above the noise threshold. I’m sure that I need to learn something more about Cubase to solve this problem. I’m attempting Mono recording first to keep things simple.
Perhaps there is something in the inspector to adjust, but I have experimented and cannot enlarge the miniscule size of the wave form.

I am a 25 year Sonar user, so I’m a newbie with Cubase but not so much with audio.
Perhaps someone might know of something I’ve missed.
Jack, the Quiet Bear

Hi Quiet Bear :smiley:
Welcome to the forum and Cubase Pro 9.5 :smiley:

Ok I’m very new to Cubase,but have used other Daws before, no expert you understand. But try these ideas,bud.

1. Check your audio settings in Cubase,from Studio Set up/Vst Audio System (make sure your A.I is selected and not a generic audio driver
  2. Have you by accident switched on direct monitoring on your Focusrite audio interface? (this will have a slight lowering of volume (of what you hear)
  3. Check your Gain control on your Focusrite? Increase Gain on the input of your mic? Microphone position ie close to you?
  4. Have you checked your PC audio settings for volume etc,etc via the mixer bottom right corner,right click for Volume control options etc