Font Differences - MacOS vs Windows

Hi everyone and Dorico team!

I wanted to prefix this by noting that I am not a font expert at all, and the extent of my knowledge extends to installing a few user fonts to use in Photoshop / MS word etc, and the rough difference between static and variable font types!

When opening the same Dorico 4 project between MacOS and Windows machines, I am noticing that fonts relink differently, particularly between the font styles. This can lead to certain font styles being replaced by others on the score. An example:

• I downloaded and installed a font from google fonts called ‘Lato’.
  • In my score if I set the title, for instance, to use the new Lato font in either ‘Regular, Bold, Italic, Bold-Italic’ styles, this will open perfectly between the MacOS and Windows rigs.
  • If on the MacOS machine I set the font to a ‘non-standard’ font style, such as ‘Semibold’, when I open the dorico project in Windows there is a missing font warning on open, despite the font also being installed on the system.

After some trial and error and investigation, I have seen that on windows (within Dorico), the Lato font is listed with every font ‘style’ in the font family drop down and not just ‘Lato’ in the family and the various styles in the font style dropdown as I had anticipated. On MacOS however Dorico displays only ‘Lato’ in the family dropdown, and all of the styles in the style dropdown, as expected.

That said, as mentioned above, if only ‘Lato’ is selected on windows in the family dropbox (as opposed to Lato-Semibold, or Lato-Heavy etc) then the ‘normal’ font styles all show up in the styles dropdown and relink perfectly with the MacOS machine.