Free serif font for lyrics?

I have used Minion Pro for all my projects with lyrics for the past several years, but I’m working on a project that needs to use a free font with no licensing restrictions. I would like it to be a serif font that is nice and compact. Something in the same style as Minion would be great. Any suggestions?

I have no experience using it (as I have a Creative Cloud subscription and Adobe licenced fonts are acceptable for my needs), but is Vollkorn any use? This seems to be close to Minion Pro but is SIL OFL licensed.

If you hit any problems, the project unfortunately seems to be abandonware.

Just how free does your free have to be?

1 Like

I do not dare making font suggestions (only steal them), but I also use Vollkorn from Google Fonts and love it!

Crimson Text maybe? It seems pretty compact.

Minion Pro:
EB Garamond (Google Fonts):

Thanks, I’m not a fan of EB Garamond. Too wispy for small point sizes.

1 Like

Yes, I actually just found this one and love it!!

1 Like

Crimson Text is basically a generic “Humanist” font, not unlike Garamond. I’d suggest Arno Pro or Warnock Pro as alternatives in a similar vein.

I do not comprehend. If you have purchased Adobe software that bundles Minion Pro or makes it available via Adobe fonts e.g. Creative Cloud then you have a full license to use the font for either personal or commercial purposes.

So what are you referring to? I find this very strange. And where would you be getting Minion Pro from if not from Adobe Fonts/Creative Cloud?

“The full Adobe Fonts library is cleared for both personal and commercial use.”

Can you elaborate?

I’m working on a project that requires only OFL fonts. That’s as clear as I can make it!

I did settle on Crimson Pro, which is working great.

1 Like

Same licencing as any Adobe font.

Re OFL, sorry, does not make any sense given the ability to use Adobe fonts that they grant you. I’ll hush.