Freeze function in the future?

I’m a media composer for TV, now I have a free week between projects and I’m giving Dorico the time that it deserves. Template-wise it works good with VEP6, for now I’ve created 70+ tracks in a Full Template Layout that I’m gonna save as a Template Song, then I will use the instruments I need for every piece in another layout.

Dorico is a beautiful software and it’s very nice to write with, but today, after finishing my last show, I realised that without freezing the tracks I would not be able to use Dorico as my workhorse in the future. In order to deliver my work, the freeze function is essential.

Of course that I need real time input and Velocity Lane in Play Mode, but without the Freeze Function(or Render In Place/Bounce In Place functions), I cannot change LPX/Cubase for Dorico.

Eventually I always have to freeze or render because of the number of Kontakt voices from the SSD or CPU spikes, or both. Also for mixing and archiving purposes I always render the audio of every track, so I mix better.
By the way, what’s the maximum number of tracks that Dorico allows to create? I´d need to create a big template.

I congratulate everybody in the team, Dorico is a great program. I’d love to see you implement those things in the future, because I’d love to work with Dorico only.

Best,
Juan

Why not use a slave computer or two?

Hi, I work great with one machine, a MacPro 64GB several SSDs, and my template has more than 300 tracks. I never liked the workflow with slaves, and you don’t need that anymore. Its better to purchase a 12+ core, runs smooth. I have LPX sessions with hundreds of Kontakts and no problemo.

I just need to freeze a couple of tracks in large sessions, and if I have time I render every track to audio to mix better. And I´d do that too if I´d have slaves machines, the archiving it’s importante for me.