Gain staging. How? The basics

I have this massive orchestral project to gain stage/balance. By nature I am a musician not a tech - this comes hard to me.
I spent the last few days blowing my mind trying to understand the difference between dB and Loudness, trying to understand how to use the Cbase meters and trying understand how to understand how to preserve headroom. My mind is like Spaghetti all the threads of understanding lead nowhere. What I thought I knew, I no longer understand.

Here is my most basic question. I want to go through my project comparing flute to flute, trumpet to trumpet, and getting instruments from different manufacturers to be “appropriate” with each other. This means all the flutes to be broadly the same, but of lower volume than the trumpets. I also want to make sure I don’t max out at the output, either when doing this, or when the orchestra plays. The issue is, I really have no idea what dB or LU to aim for in the control room meters.
Some engineers suggest 6dB headroom. How do you achieve headroom? What does this mean in terms of your meters? In a practical sense, in Cubase? I heard one guy say that you gain add a gain of 6dB to the stereo output, then compose as “normal”, then at the end take the 6dB off leaving that headroom for masterers. This seems to make sense to me, but I know my knowledge is lacking.

Can anyone help with this basic question?

1 Like

Use the pre gain in the eq to properly gain stage. Goal is to be able to have all tracks push approximately the same signal strength so nothing gets lost in the mix. After each track is staged you’ll want to utilize the loudness meter. I personally keep the mixer at 0db, and rout to a master vca. I bring the staged tracks to around 23 lufs. Then I export to a multi track mixdown. At 23 lufs you’ll have plenty of headroom for the mix process.

2 Likes