Gain Staging Questions

Hi all,

My first post on here, so hello! If you dont mind, I’ll start off with a couple of fairly nooby questions. Gotta start somewhere though, right! :wink:

I’m a musician and have been getting into recording over the past couple of years. Recently I have been reading up about proper gain staging in Cubase as I want to increase the quality of my recordings. I found this very helpful thread from a couple of years ago: Proper Gain Staging - Steinberg Lounge - Steinberg Forums

I understand that 0VU = -18dBFS. I also understand the reason why this should be set. However, I have 2 main questions.

1. How is best to control the gain of an input? Via the controls on the interface? Or via the input fader on the interface software / input channel within Cubase?

2. Where would I be reading -18dBFS? Would this be on the input on interface’s software (I have a Liquid Saffire 56) or on the input channel within Cubase?

Sorry if I have confused anything. If I have, please point it out! :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance.

Vex

Welcome! :slight_smile:
I could be wrong, but here’s my take on it:

1. It’s best to use the controls on the interface so you make most use of the dynamic range of your AD converter, and you can be sure you won’t clip it.
  2. I don’t think it makes a difference, I expect both meters to show you the same values.

Good luck!
By the way, I wouldn’t call those nooby questions, most questions here are far noobier :wink:

Here’s is what I do:

When tracking I change global meter settings to meter input so the channel meters reflect the incoming signal level.