General Cubase mixing and mastering question

I’m very new to the more technical functionality of cubase and to mixing and mastering in general and I’m not even sure if this kind of question is permitted in the forum as it’s not so much a question regarding cubase as much as technique so I apologise if I have breached protocol by posting here.

Anyhow, I’m just wondering with regard to automation and compression. It seems that some compression is often recommended in certain situations so was wondering if one was intending to write automated volume changes into a track, would it make more sense to do that before or after applying compression to the track?

Most likely another really stupid question from me but would appreciate the views of others if anyone has a view and the time to give a quick response.

A quick opinion, and I’m no expert by any means:
A compressor will make the louder bits quieter and the quieter bits louder (laymans terms). So think funky guitar that has a huge range of volume dynamics. Compressed this will even out the levels making it easier to mix.
So, it makes sense in this case to compress prior to automation.
The same could be argued re reverb - makes things sound further away…
My technique in a few lines:
Write the music.
Set up group tracks for say Drums/perc, strings, synth pads, bass, vocals etc.
Solo each group and get your levels right for each group - and eq’s etc
Set up a marker track for each section of your song (intro, verse, chorus, outro)
Start setting levels for all groups for each section (let each one loop)
Write a track sheet- notes for each track for things like the level and pan in each song section.
Apply automation to suit to your volumes etc.
This doesn’t take into account any work prior to mixing of choosing your synth sounds, exporting your midi/VST/instrument tracks to audio, adding effects such as compression, reverb etc.

Simply - don’t start automating a mix until the rest of the hard work is done.