Groove Agent

Hi,

I was thinking of venturing into the realms if using Groove agent and was wondering if I could get some feedback. I’m totally new to that part of Cubase (I have Cubase 7.5) so I’m not sure what is what. Trying to search for either keeps pulling up Groove Agent 4

1 - What is the difference between Groove agent SE and Groove Agent One (other than the layout of course)?
I like SE has the “grooves” where you can cut and past a bar of an already played beat (as opposed to coming up with your own) which I like but I don’t see that with Groove agent One

2- I see there is a Groove Agent 4 and a lot of the packages of beats (Library or are they called Maps?) Steinberg has that I looked at look like they wont work with Cubase prior to 8, so I don’t know if those are not an option for Cubase 7.5 or if they will work with Groove agent SE (maybe 4 is only for Cubase 8).

3 - One thing I am having an issue with in deciding if I want to use it is I do mostly rock type stuff but all the “grooves” in SE are more house/hip-hop beats so I have only found one so far in a style that I was able to mess with. Also, it seems like the whole pre-programmed Grooves thing is kind of limited after you use that set a couple times you would wind up with the same beats over and over (unless I go in and program my own, which I can do on a midi track with other drum programs I have, I think even Halion has some drums). I’m guessing you might be able to edit them (obviously haven’t gotten that far yet). I just thought I’d see if anyone else has run into that and see if there’s a bigger concept to it all that I’m missing.

Bonus question - What does SE stand for? is that like code for “trial version that came with Cubase”?

Thanks in advance

Joe

Groove Agent ONE is only included for compatibility with older projects, feel free to ignore it.