Guitar Bends: Timing/Bend-hold-release question

Hello,

I’m quite new to Dorico, and overall I’m liking it so far. I searched on the forum to see if anyone else was discussing this topic, and could not find anything. Please forgive me if I missed it.

I am trying to notate combinations of bends and holds, such that I can indicate via notation, and control during playback, the timing of the bend vs the hold. For example, a plucked note that is held for a dotted quarter and then bent up over an eighth note, or (in the images below), a bend where a note is plucked, quickly bent up, held, then quickly released.

I’m not certain what the standard notation is for such a bend (if there even is one), but my approach in the past is to use explicit note duration and ties, so as to approximately represent the desired “held” portion, versus the bend. For example, if I want a slow, continual bend, I might use a half note with a bend. Alternatively, if I want to hold and then release, I might use a dotted quarter note tied to an eighth note, and only put the bend on the eighth note - thus indicating my intent: hold for a dotted quarter, and release over the duration of an eighth.

I’m coming from GuitarPro, where that is the approach used, and whilst a bit heavy handed, it works well, both in notation and playback.

In Dorico, the notation appears to work correctly with this approach. The bend is only notated for the final note of a tie chain, both in standard notation and tablature, and a hold line is drawn (if enabled) for the earlier bend, leading up to the release. Forced note duration allows me to control, explicitly, the duration of the bend-hold-bend in the notation:

guitarBendRelease_notation

That’s all well and good. However, in playback, both of these bends play in the exact same way:

guitarBendRelease_pitchBendData

The release occurs slowly, over the duration of a half note, regardless of how it is notated.