Guitar(s) safety and care

Hi everybody, guitarists in particular,
I would like to know if and how do you keep your guitars at home.

I’m sixty and I’ve been playing for many years now and I always kept my guitars inside their bags/cases, to protect them; nothing more. Never had troubles.
Last year I eventually decided to buy a guitar rack stand for my five guitars as I wanted to have them ready to play and I liked the idea to see them ready to go…

This summer I realized that one of them, unfortunately the best ant the more expensive, an acoustic Larrivée D09-M, had his bridge starting to detach (see photos), so I had to take it to a luthier to repair (lot of money…).

Luthier told me that problem was likely too dry air and guitars have to stay in a humidity range around 50%(+o-5%) - the same suggested by Boveda so I bought an hygrometer
to check it; do you think it’s reliable? I’m afraid is too cheap… Do you use something similar? Any advice?

Thank you very much,

Art

That hygrometer should be sufficient for checking the air where you store your guitars. Since your bridge gave way, that’s usually a sign of the humidity being too high. Is that your case? If you’re willing to spend the money, and still want your guitars out, you can get humidity controlled cabinets that are glass with wood frames so you can see them and have them nearby.
Acoustic Guitar mag has this article on the topic:
Acoustic Guitar Humidity and Storage

All a hygrometer does is tell you what the humidity is, what you need is a Humidifier.
My wife has 5 really expensive guitars and we keep them all in their cases, much easier to control.
You don’t say if your guitars are in a humidified room, which is the only way to keep them all at the proper level, otherwise you have to go the case route.
I know it’s a pain but we had a similar experience with a Martin 1952 D28, which had to be repaired .