Halcion Symphonic Orchestra purchase download or box?

Hello everyone! I am new to cubase (7) coming from protools. But still feel like a “newbie” :open_mouth: . Want to buy the Halcion Symphonic Orchestra to put to cubase. Is it better to download it or buy the “box”? What happens if my computer (PC-windows 8) crashes or if I buy another one: must I purchase the Halcion plug in again? Do I need a physical activation Key?

Also would like to have a good piano but the “grand” offered by Steinberg, though it looks good, is much too much. I just would like 1 good piano plug in, maybe 2 for variety (steinway or ?) but not the full package that is just too much. Would like to simplify as much as possible all this complexity! :laughing: Also any suggestions for a harp which is not included in HSO?

Thanks for your suggestions, zed. :smiley:

Hi,

This may be late, but it hurts seeing a such simple question left without an answer. It doesn’t make any difference to buy box or download, because what you’re really paying is the license to use the product: once you buy the VST you will be given an activation code which you can add to your steinberg profile: if the PC breaks you can ask for a key change and reactivate the VST on your new PC. Be careful because you may need a USB-stick containing the license to activate and use some products (this is the case with Cubase, I guess you already know) and if the USB stick breaks you’ll have to purchase another one.

For the piano, I fear there is no way to buy a “half-version” of the VST. Look for used version which can come cheaper or effect the basic pianos with reverb and EQ to achieve a good-enough result.

For the harp, I would suggest downloading a free Orchestra plugin, like Sonatina Symphonic Orchestra, which with a sfz player can give you some basic instruments (obviously not at the same detail as SSO).