Halion 6 impressions after a few months

Hey everyone. I wanted to get some thoughts from other users of Halion 6 in terms of how they feel about:

• Its interface?
  • Speed and ease of getting the sound you’re after?
  • The workflow of creating layers/splits, etc?
  • Ease of understanding a program, modulations, effects quickly
  • Ability to assign and manage modulations

For me, I’ve been using it off and on for a few months now off and on and I’m starting to get a grip on the general workflow and capabilities. I also set up a few screen sets per my preferences which has helped.

First of all, my uses so far have been for using/tweaking presets, building layers/splits, designing synth sounds from scratch. I have not used it for sampling at all, designing my own wavetables, etc. Maybe in the future I’ll explore that but I’ve never done any of that stuff before.

I’ll say that this is not a synth that in my opinion is easy to jump into or particularly intuitive. I don’t think that’s necessarily a problem if “the juice is worth the squeeze”, or if the workflow is fast and productive once you put the time into learning how to use it and where things are. But I have to say that even after I’ve gotten reasonably comfortable with it, I don’t particularly enjoy using the interface. There are a few things that help, such as the contextual “sound” tab which shows you just the relevant details of whatever you click in the program tree. Also the browser is pretty nice. But overall, I still wouldn’t describe it as user-friendly, intuitive, or streamlined.

Sound-wise, I’m pretty satisfied. Wavetable and granular synth engine are very nice. Regular synth engine is pretty good also. It has nice unison and multi-oscillator and decent filters. The regular synth engine would benefit from more types of waveforms, but each one can be morphed quite a bit.