Having a NIGHTMARE with Cubase, all help gratefully received

Dear Anyone.

I know you’re not supposed to ask more than one question per thread but I’m having so many problems with Cubase I’m just gonna list them all and take the flak afterwards. I’m a total NOOB to Cubase so be gentle!

1.) ASIO. SOMETIMES sound works in Cubase, sometimes it doesn’t, sometimes it just dies for no apparent reason and no settings have been changed. All the little lights are still flashing merrily, nothing’s coming out the speakers no more. ASIO4ALL’s saying all the inputs/outputs are fine, lights on, nobody home!

2.) Sometimes when I import a soundfile there’s no panning control on the slider. Instead, where the panning control SHOULD be it’s coming up as LFE. I’ve got zero idea what that means but it’s something to do with 5.1 surround, am I wrong? I’m only working in stereo, what’s it doing there?

3.) SOMETIMES - all these things seem to be SOMETIMES - when I import a sound file it comes in as TWO soundfiles, left and right. Which I suppose is fair enough, left channel, right channel. (But why only sometimes!?!) Thing IS - when that happens, of course you can’t put effects on the whole instrument at once because Cubase thinks it’s two different instruments. So as far as I can see you have to have TWO sets of effects going on, one for each instance of the sound, and carefully calibrate them both. Which is fair enough I suppose but takes forEVER to get right (And I THINK I’m getting phase issues too, not expert enough to be certain!) And again SOMETIMES - one of the channels won’t let you use any effects. Doesn’t matter what you put into it, no little lights flash in the effects boxes, only in the output box. It’s like the effect isn’t there.