Hello from a newcomer. Advices appreciated ;)

Hi guys.

A newbie here. My name is Dan and I started to produce music some 1 and a half year ago with Magic music maker, then decided to go to higher level and bought Reason 7 and AKAI LPK 25. Now I have Reason 8.3 with almost all Rack Extensions (Reason plugins), Novation Launchkey 61, digital recorder, mixer, external USB audio card, KRK Rokit 5 monitors and some more equipment. Recently I bought Cognitone Synfire so it looks I take it seriously ha, ha. Invested a lot of money this year into music production [just don’t tell my wife, please :smiley: ].

Like it’s not enough, 2 days ago I ordered Cubase 8 Pro + Steinberg UR 22 USB Audio Interface.

There’s still much to learn for me. I guess the best way is to do as many songs as possible. So I have made a song approximately every 10 - 14 days (beside I have full time job). And every new song sounds better than the previous one (I hope). I would remix and remaster all my older songs if only I had time but it’s an endless story I think. One is probably never 100% satisfied I think every producer feels it similar way.

Concerning Cubase, everything is new for me and also ¨plugins world¨ because Reason has its own devices. I would like to kindly ask you to point me to some useful websites there I can watch / read tutorials for Cubase and suggest me good plugins - both effects and instruments. What you think is necessary to have to achieve good sound. I think that it’s more important to have good effects / compressors / EQs and other stuff that improve the sound than dozens of instruments.

Though I really love Reason, the absence of VSTs usage and especially impossibility to rewire it to Synfire is limiting me. I have spent many hours comparing other DAWs and Cubase has won this game.

So if you find a minute I will appreciate you post some useful links or advices for me. Thank you in advance.

(Note: I work on Windows 7/64 bit platform)

Dan Topic

twitter.com/DanT0PIC