Help! How to use keyboard sounds as midi device

Hi, I’m a newbie here, so if my question has been answered elsewhere on the forum, my apologies.

I’m recording mainly using MIDI keyboards (KORG N5EX and KORG SP-100), but would like to use the MIDI sounds on the keyboard itself, rather than VSTs. I understand that you have to use two MIDI cables (in and out on the keyboard and audio interface), and set up the keyboard as a MIDI device, but no matter what I do, I can’t seem to get record the sound patches from my keyboard. Can anyone help, or point me in the right direction? MY equipment is listed below in my signature.

Many thanks, mngratton

You need to connect the audio outputs from the keyboard/s to the audio inputs of the interface.

Then you have to create new Stereo Audio track. Switch On the Monitor button (speaker button, which is orange, if it is On). Then, you can listen all your connected synths thru. If you want to record it, just record it In to this Stereo Audio track, any switch the Monitor button Off.

Hi thanks for the replies. I actually want to still record in MIDI, so I can edit the parts later, but still use the patches from the keyboard. Is there a way to do this, rather than just recording the audio output?

Obviously Cubase will be sending midi to your keyboard and your keyboard will be sending audio back to cubase.

MIDI is not audio.

• Connect keyboard to MIDI interface; MIDI out of keyboard to MIDI in on interface and vice versa.
  • Make sure MIDI interface is recognized in Cubase.
  • Create MIDI track in Cubase, using interface as MIDI input in inspector, MIDI channel; 1 should be fine.
  • Set track output to same interface, same MIDI channel.
  • Optional: Check MIDI Local on keyboard is off (direct playing won’t sound the patch, only MIDI input)
  • Record arm the track (red button on).
  • Play the keys and check for input activity (green bar indicator) - start recording.