Help - please. New setup advice.

HELP please!

Didn’t know Dorico 2 existed until a couple of days ago, but a synthesiser breakage has forced me to reconsider my system setup.
As a reasonably successful composer, I work entirely in notation (used Sibelius right back since version 1 and have been a Beta tester in the past) but require a realistic-sounding output for demos – without spending hours of extra work using Cubase/DAW/etc.

A long-time Sibelius user, I am increasingly disillusioned with Avid and have stuck with Sib 5 as I did not want to make the transition to VST from midi instruments (was happy with my synths), and didn’t like the way the company was going.

However, need to update my system (or buy another Sib-compatible synthesiser – too expensive) and realise VST is probably the only way to go. I have always used my Motif ES (with a module) and Yamaha DGX for playback – giving me the 3 x 16 midi channels to get enough voices I need to play back, say, an orchestra + choir + organ + soloists. I also write for brass ensembles (including brass bands), wind bands, choirs, as well as orchestra and chamber groups.

So, do I switch my (educational) version of Sib 5 to Dorico 2? or stay with Sib and get the latest version? How do I get the number of channels/voices/sounds (at least 48) that I require?

I am a total beginner in VST, so what do I need to buy in addition to Dor 2 to get realistic (ish) orchestral, brass, and choral voices so that I can play my stuff back and get a decent output, suitable to send off as a demo? Can I still use my Motif ES for playback as well as VST? Does Dor 2 support this synth (unlike Sib where I was forced to write my own compatibility program)?

I have a Windows 10 HP Spectre X360 laptop, with i7 processor, 64-bit, with 16gb RAM and an 1000g SSD. I also have another i7 laptop if more processing power or tandem working is needed.