Help purchase Cubase 10.5 PRO for Windows 7 (64bit)

Can someone help me to purchase Cubase 10.5 for a Windows 7(64bit) machine?
This is one of mine studio PCs, it was optimized for audio processing, it is not new but has plenty of fast RAM and quite fast processor, it runs some old AKAI samplers connected via SCSI and others PCI cards that I use with old equipment, that is the reason I can’t upgrade this PC to win10, it could be a drivers nightmare to setup.

I would like to purchase Cubase 10.5, I’ve read that this is the last version that support Win7.

I can’t find the right link on
steinberg .net/cubase/
and I don’t want to buy it second hand.

If I understand well, I can buy Cubase 12 and an USB elicenser
steinberg .net/elicenser/

then download Cubase 10.5 and it should work, but something in my mind saying it is not that easy.

I’m new to Steinberg stuff, can someone explain me step by step how to do that?
If that work can I install Cubase 12 on a Windows 11 machine too, or I need to purchase 2 licenses?

thanks a lot!

Marco

Hi and welcome to the forum,

You can always buy just the current Cubase version, what is Cubase 12 at this moment. So you can’t buy Cubase 10.5 at this moment.

In the past, you could run an older Cubase version with the current Cubase license. For example with Cubase 11, you can start Cubase 10.5, Cubase 10, etc. But with Cubase 12, Steinberg started to use a new licensing system, which is not backward compatible. If you would own Cubase 11 (or lower) version, you would update to Cubase 12, you would get Cubase 11 (not upgradable) license to your USB-eLicenser and you would start Cubase 11 and lower with the USB-eLicenser (old licensing system). But if you buy Cubase 12 retail (not an update) at this moment, you don’t get this USB-eLicenser based license anymore. So you cannot start Cubase 11 and lower.

If you really need Cubase 10.5, the only way is to buy 2nd hand Cubase 10.5 or Cubase 11. Sorry.

1 Like