Hints for live stage piano performance using Cubasis

I’ve been playing a stage piano for several years in an amateur dramatic group and have recently been looking to improve the quality of the piano sound. My main aim is to improve the piano sound in a simple but robust way, suitable for both rehearsals and live performance. I have recently tried out the new Yamaha MD BT01 midi Bluetooth adapter with an ipad and Cubasis and am getting good results. This note aims to discuss some of the practical details of getting the set-up to work, in the hope that others may find this useful. Apologies for the extended length of the document.

Before going in to detail about the set-ups, I’d like to sing the praises of forScore as a sheet music app. I’ve been using forScore with an ipad and an Airturn BT105 foot operated page turner for live performance and the system has worked flawlessly (apart from one time when I accidentally kicked the page turner away in the middle of a performance, with disastrous results… I now using masking tape to hold the page turner in place). The main drawback of the system is that the ipad is rather small to display a page of music. However, I’ve recently got an ipad pro and Apple pencil to use with forScore and this really is a dream system for piano players.

I started by reading about Ipad set-ups for live music and found a number of recent useful articles:

1. Can an iPad Replace My MainStage Rig?
  2. http://www.musicappblog.com/keyboard-ios-starter-kit/
  3. http://www.musicappblog.com/ipad-recording-studio-series/