Hit The CLub [Single]

Hello guys.

I’m a student in a Conservatory of Music, two more years to become piano teacher, but I love good techno/electronica; So here is a set of two tracks of the genre.
I would like your first impressions and feedback, how technically I can improve (and I know I need to. Next year, hopely no more quarantine, I’ll start taking DAW lessons).

https://samsaradore.bandcamp.com/album/hit-the-club

Welcome to the forum, @Arjuna.techno — and nice job on this track!

I am by no means certified to opine on techo/electronica, but I will share a couple of general things about mixing which I learned from my Tonmeister friends. They made me think about:

• Panning — kick drum (or the like) and bass usually in center, other instruments spread around the stereo image to taste. Low frequency generally correlates to center-ness (except obvious items, like vocals).

• Depth — does something sound in front, i.e. hitting us in the face, or in the back of the field? Are some elements very clear while others are almost subliminal, buried deep in the texture? (There are some wonderful videos on YouTube about depth of field).

• Listen to your favorite albums, dissect, and mimic—over and over.

I’ll stop here, as these are the concepts that helped me the most. Again, we have peers on this forum which are way more qualified than I am, so please take the above as an opinion only.

Best wishes — Thiago

1 Like

Thank you so much for your opinion !

I already use the kick/snare/hihat in center technique (I can play with pan on the hihat) and the other instruments to the right or left. Things I don’t know which you mentioned are depths and true knowledge of EQlizing, I do it as how I found it sounding fine, most likely as near as it can be to what I want to hear.

I’ll be glad to hear some more opinions.

Thanks again.

Also, make sure you are working with a good pair of headphones. Speakers can be very misleading!

I use a Pro Headphone for finishing details.