How did I not see this coming! 96khz sounds great but...

So I recently got myself a 96khz/24 bit portable sound recorder and have started making my own drum samples.

I have been looking forward to this moment for a long time…

one problem…

MY CPU PACKED UP ITS STUFF AND BROKE UP WITH ME THEN MOVED OUT AND STARTED A NEW RELATIONSHIP WITH A POTATO

I’d like to remain using 96khz 24 bit audio because no matter what anyone says - it sounds better. Much better.

So I ask thee, how can I bring my CPU back to normal levels again? Hardware solution?

Thanks
T

I’m no doctor but if 96kHz recording sounds better to you, I’m afraid that you’re probably half bat. Most of your audience probably aren’t half-bats though, and even if they were most of their speakers can barely reproduce sound above 16kHz properly, so feel free to record at 48kHz or 44.1kHz to save CPU cycles and disk space.

hahaha oh well back to my cave i go

anyway does anyone know of any hardware that can give me more cpu headroom?

i7 6950X perhaps

An SSL and a rack of hardware compressors?

aw man im gonna be saving for 10 years

By which time there will be a widespread outbreak of 512khz. Chase at your peril!

To be honest id probably appreciate it if more people could discourage me from recording in 96khz cos im pretty hell bent on this

Keep two projects open - one for recording, another one for producing. Recording at 96 KHz, then import this in your session which is at 48 KHz.

Basically get all your recording done in 96, work with 48 then when it comes to rendering, render at 96.

Then your audience can hear it in iPhone speakers at a glorious 8 KHz. :mrgreen: :laughing:

haha amazing ill give it a bash :slight_smile:

Thanks
T

I’d work at 48Khz and use plugins that are capable of oversampling. Fabfilter etc.

It’s the application of EQ that benefits from higher sample rates.

my old edirol handheld also sounds/records much better at 96k. (old cheap ADDA converters)