How do I consolidate multi-bar rests?

Dorico is separating this 17-bar rest into three groups, but I don’t want that. I want to start with a single, 17-bar rest. Why does Dorico insist upon separating these? And how do I fix it?

(Note: I’ve skimmed other posts on this topic, most of which relate to disabling condensing. But condensing is already disabled in my project, so I remain baffled.)

It could be any of several types of object. Are you showing signposts? That will probably give the quickest clue as to what’s going on. We can only guess from a picture.

Thanks for the reply. This is my very first project in Dorico 4, and almost all defaults are still in place. (I’ve only changed a couple of fonts.) All signposts are showing except for two (which is the default):

When this happened to me it was because a crescendo was extending past the end of a barline into a blank measure. It threw all of the multimeasure rests in other parts off. Took me forever to find the cause!

My next guess is that somehow one of the bar rests in bar 12 was made explicit, perhaps by hitting O for force duration. If you choose View > Note And Rest Colors > Implicit Rests, that will show default rests in grey. If any rests are still black, try selecting and deleting them.

Posting the project file itself will take the guesswork out of it.

Thanks to all for these tips and suggestions.

When viewing implicit rests, they all turned gray. None remained black. Here’s a truncated version of the project (just the first two, unfinished pages, because the client is secretive).

Key : Keyhole 1.1 copy.dorico (998.4 KB)

Thanks again in advance.

Select bar 12 in the System Track, hit the checkbox to select everything in that bar and hit Delete. What is in there, we may never know but that gets rid of it.

3 Likes

I could not see anything hidden there. Perhaps did you have en extra staff, that you later deleted but wasn’t completely empty?