How do I edit a sample in Halion Sonic se?

Noob here. Cubase 11 Pro. I was looking for a cello and I noticed that the Halion Sonic se has a cello (Cello Slow) that’s not bad EXCEPT that at the start of each note it makes a distracting little sound which I assume is the bow first touching the strings or something. I’m friends with several serious cellists including a professional and I’ve never noticed them doing this.

I assume this is a sampled sound because I can’t imagine anyone would deliberately synthesize a cello to do that, so my question is how do I take it out? In FL Studio all of the samples could be edited in many ways, including the ability to set the start point. I’d like to set the start point a little later on this instrument - how would I do that here?

Hi,

HALion Sonic SE is just a “player”, you cannot edit any sample in it. You would need HALion 6 instrument.

You can try to increase the Attack time, but I don’t think you would get the expected result.

HALion Sonic SE is just a “player”, you cannot edit any sample in it.

Perhaps we’re using the word “edit” differently. In FL Studio you’re not actually changing the sample - you’re just reading it starting from a different place. You can also read it backwards, inverted, stretched-out in time, etc. None of these alter the original sample, so perhaps “edit” is not the right word. These are all just different ways of reading it, and Halion Sonic se is a reader.

All of that capability comes free with FL Studio which is a much less expensive product than Cubase “Pro”. So you must be mistaken when you say that Cubase is as under-powered and lacking in capability as you say it is.

@art1 Martin is right. And in this case even Halion 6 would not help because the sample layer is locked. So trying the attack is the only option here.