How do I route audio FX to specific channel on a multi-instrument engine?

I’m new to Cubase - having trouble finding out how to use an FX (like a reverb) on a specific instrument in a multi like EastWest Play. When I used Cakewalk Sonar, I created separate audio channels and could easily route them to their channel in a Play instance then add Sends to the audio channel. Can’t figure out how to do that with Cubase.

You do it the same way in Cubase.

Create a group or fx channel - and place it either inside or outside folder(just tells where you see it listed as among tracks or group channel folder).
Insert a reverb on that channel.
Then create a send from the output track from EastWestPlay - I think mixer is the easiest .

If you use extra outs from EastWestPlay - you see these in mixer or inspector - and can create a send and route it to this. Or on the left lower part in project window tracks panel, there is an arrow to show automation lanes(that where extra outs appear).

A bit off topic not to confuse too much

In Sonar the extra outs appear just like any audio track in project window, so easier in that way. And when rendering/freeze an instrument - you also get audio on the those outs - this does not happend in Cubase. Freeze in Cubase hide the audio from freeze - and only visible in the Pool, as they call it. You get no assist visually what is happening audiowise in Cubase of frozen instruments(render in place is better though in that sense).

Hmm. I’m having trouble with the extra outs - maybe I don’t understand. Is that done in EWPlay by setting Ch. 1 to Main L/R, Ch. 2 to 3 & 4, etc.? When I try that, I don’t see those represented in the mixer or under the automation lanes.

I’m able to add the send to the Play output track, but that adds the same FX to all instruments. I appreciate the help.

You have routed midi to separate inputs for plugins to play each instrument - now to getting audio outs separately for each.