How do you change the input phase

I am using two microphones to mic a snare drum (top & bottom) and cannot locate info on how to change the input phase in the CB AI6 documentation.
I’m sure that this must somehow be possible, can any one clue me in?

Thanks

No, it´s not, unless you use som plugin to do so.

In the old days, I used to keep an XLR lead wired XRL at one end, for polarity reversal. For the odd occasions that required it!!!

Marked as such of course :stuck_out_tongue:

Okay so are you saying it is an obsolete technique?

Thanks

No, not at all… the need for a polarity reverse lead is? (although still handy for the odd thing)

The big versions of Cubase have a “phase” button on every channel input and output.

Aha that is what I was wondering…if the more expensive versions had this feature.
As far as why it’s needed I don’t know, It’s just that the books I have read on recording say that’s how to make the snare sound better, hey I’m a drummer what do you expect :smiley:
I will probably need to upgrade to the full fledged version of Cubase, I was just trying out the AI since it came with a Yamaha keyboard.
Thank you so much for your replies,

Me to when playing Live. You could make an adapter or
just reverse Pins 2 & 3 on a Mic cable for the bottom snare mic. :wink:

And like everyone has said Cubase versions 4-5-6-7 all have phase reverse.

Jack :smiley: :smiley:

When miking the top and bottom of a snare you need to reverse one of the mics (to the other) otherwise the snare will sound thin due to cancellation, mainly of the lower frequencies.

If you think about it, when you hit the top skin, the skin moves away from the top mic, the bottom skin moves towards the bottom mic, when you mix the two signals together you get whats called cancellation occurring.

Also when multi micing a kit, all the spot mics should really be “phase” checked against the overheads at least!

http://www.indiana.edu/~emusic/acoustics/phase.htm

Split,