How to connect an external synth to Cubase for audio and midi

Hi, I have Cubase 10 Elements, and I would like to use a Korg Monologue with it. As interface I have the UR22 MK2

I tried to connect the USB cable of the Monologue to the computer, and the audio output to the 1st audio input of the UR22; and I can hear the Monologue sound when I play it.
I started Cubase; and created an audio track, using as input “mono 1”; that seems to be working since I can see the audio meter moving on that audio track, when I play the monologue. I tried to record and I see the wave recorded, but when I play it back I hear nothing.

I would like to use the sounds of the Monologue, so when I play it, I can record the midi part AND the audio wave file; so if I decide to switch something in the midi part, or swap preset, I can get new audio in. So far I had no luck because the Monologue is not even in the midi devices list of Cubase 10; and I am just a beginner; so in the past I just used VST with a USB midi controller; and this is my first hardware synth.

Does anyone have any hints about how to get this to work with my setup?

Greetings.

If I understand your questions, well, you have many ‘options’, but here is what I would ‘suggest’.

First, lets keep it simple. Make a set of inputs that will live on your mixing console and stay there, while also giving you the full array of options for routing/placing effects/grouping/and more…to the audio inputs that you have your Korg plugged into. This is MUCH better than just making an audio input…as it also gives you FX sends, and so much more.

Tap F4…

This should bring up a dialog for building Audio Connections.

In the Audio connections Dialoge, click the “External Instruments” tab.