How to connect Yamaha P-95 keyboard to Cubase

Hi.

I’d like to use my Yahama P-95 keyboard for midi recording in Cubase, but can’t get it to work properly. I’ve connected the keyboard to my computer using this cable: Evenstad Musikk - Kjøp musikkutstyr på nett!

In Cubase, I create a new track (not intrument track, but the other one, can’t seem to recall the name at the moment), press record, and start playing the keyboard, and see that nothing gets recorded.

I’m pretty new to connecting external devices to Cubase,

A few questions:

• According to Yamaha P-95 - Cubase - Steinberg Forums, I should be able to verify that Windows recognizes my keyboard. How do I do that?
  • I didn’t find Yamaha P-95 in the devices list in Cubase. Are there any drivers or something I need to install to get this working?
  • May it be that the cable I’m using somehow is not compatible with the keyboard?

Any input on how to get this up and running will be highly appreciated.

A few thoughts/suggestions for you…

• You really should list what your computer OS is and what version of Cubase you are running.
  • Connect your keyboard to your computer. Turn it on. If on a windows PC you should hear or see something that shows that the computer automatically installed a driver for it and it is ready for use.
  • Start Cubase
  • Set your keyboard to “Local Off”. See page 26 in the op manual (link provided) for the procedure to do this.
  • Add an “Instrument Track” to your project.
  • In the inspector section of your instrument track, click on the arrow to the left of the track name. It will drop down. Choose “All midi inputs” for the input routing field, and assign a VST Instrument (like Halion Sonic SE) in the instrument field.
  • Still in the inspector just below and to the right of the instrument field, click on the edit instrument button. This will bring up the Halion Sonic SE edit screen. Choose a sound from what is available.