How to copy music more efficiently

I will have to copy two movements from an orchestral score soon (each between 20 and 30 pages) and I’ve never done more than short excerpts before.

One thing I noticed doing them is that I have no idea of how to copy efficiently and if there are any particular methods best suited for Dorico. Some of it felt unnecessarily tedious; then of course I had to go back multiple times to correct mistakes. Also, I noticed I made most mistakes by losing where I was in the score. MIDI keyboard seemed faster for note entry because for some reason I made more mistakes using solely the PC keyboard. (I don’t have Stream Deck). None of this mattered at the time, but now is probably a good opportunity to learn about it.

I’m sure my questions are too basic (e.g. - is it more efficient to copy bar by bar going top to bottom, or by instrument part), but any tips, tricks and links will be gratefully appreciated. Thank you.

2 Likes

I tend to work from parts, not score. Galley view for me. Notes in one pass, then dynamics, then PT, then other elements. No layout yet. Carefully check bar numbers every 30 seconds.

Then I’ll work on other instruments in that section, showing all of them. Winds, for example. That helps me see how they’re interacting and makes mistakes less likely.

Then it’s full score, formatting, and proofing.

3 Likes

For contrast – In Dorico I like to work from full score, entering all markings along with the notes. I copy passages of material vertically as I go. This workflow is not good in e.g. Finale because you have to switch tools too much, but it’s great in Dorico.

1 Like