How to disable or remove MIDI CC for playback

Since I normally set volume and pan on the MIDI playback device, I need to either disable, override or remove the MIDI CC controls that Dorico 5 Pro automatically creates in the Play window.

But I can find no way to do that.

Furthermore, simple pan and volume controls for the channel are often useless because many external playback devices I use employ multiple sounds or voices, each with their own local pan and volume settings on the playback device.

By the way, I’ve been using Dorico for a couple of years now and generally think its wonderful and does nearly everything I can imagine wanting to do. Really great job is being done in building it!

Welcome to the forum, @Henningsvar. Dorico will only create MIDI CC data during playback if it is defined in the expression maps you’re using for playback. So the first thing I would suggest is to check what expression maps you’re using for your instruments: check that you are using just the Default expression map.

Thanks for the interesting information. It seems we might be at the entry point for a proper clarification of both the main issue and several related side issues. I hope this leads to 2 (or possibly 3) things:

1. A description in the operations manual of how things all work together in the current revision of the software
  2. A description of how they might best work together in future revisions of the software
  3. An understanding, primarily by the authors of the software, of limitations or indeterminacy in the current revision of the software in handling state changes. Any configuration change of course resets state and behavior. It is possible that some old state information that affects behavior is not flushed out and therefore persists to cause fluky problems or inconsistencies. The solution is to flush out all old configuration information before applying the new state.