How to freeze Kontakt-based tracks?

I’m new to Cubase as of a couple months ago. I’m working on a song with only about seven tracks on it. I’m also on a performance gaming rig with an i7 4960X 3.6GHz and 64GB of RAM, as well as the latest WD Black performance hard drives.

I’m noticing that if I enable record on a track at this point, playback (not even recording, but playback) will pause unexpectedly and resume, rinse, repeat.

I’ve frozen everything I can see to freeze in terms of instrument and audio tracks.

I do have several tracks which are based in Kontakt. However, neither the MIDI tracks controlling the parts, nor the audio output tracks for those parts have a freeze option.

Is there any way to lighten the CPU load by freezing/bouncing those Kontakt-based tracks? (Bounce is apparently only for audio and instrument, which makes no sense to me, given how Kontakt is handled. You should be able to freeze a track from a multi-timbral instrument like Kontakt or Addictive Drums.

I’d swear there’s a way, but if there is, I’m not seeing it.

Please help? Thanks!

(Also, why does having record enabled suck that much more CPU? If record is disabled everywhere, it’s fine. I have been very impressed with Cubase Pro until starting to run into some limitations I’d have expected with FL Studio, rather than the flagship standard DAW.)

Someone on Reddit helped me. Apparently you freeze these in the Rack, rather than the Playlist track list. Same mechanism, different area of the UI.

Thank goodness there’s actually a way.

I have to say, though, the CPU usage meter is -way- off. It still looks like I have 30-40% free when it starts pulling this nonsense. I think they need to re-code that meter, because it’s obviously inaccurate.

Several things.

What you are seeing is not typical behavior. You shouldn’t get a pause on record enable. Seven Kontakt Tracks is not a big load & should easily run on your system.