how to keep recording in background even after punch out?

hi, all. im new with cubase, coming from pro tools. was wondering if there was a way to keep recording audio in the background after pressing (*) (punchout), while keeping the playhead running? so that i can still peel the clip to the right even after punch out, just for fine tuning the crossfades at a later time? thanks.

It will record up to 60 seconds in “stop” mode. Not sure if this will allow post-record, try it.
You need to specify a time in the Prerecord field in the recording options.
See the Op. Manual Pg. 117

It’d be interesting to have a post-record feature as well, +1 for that.

Not to be funny, but I let it record extra at the end just in case… Then I trim all my takes or sections as a separate action later once the recording’s done.

But, occasionally when I’ve jumped the gun and pressed punchout too early I rely entirely on the 60 seconds of pre-record buffer and simply press record again to bring it into a new clip on the timeline. I then have to wind the start back but that’s pretty quick to do. You can join them together if you really want to by bouncing.

Mike.

Wow, i’m a bit freaked out that there is no direct option in the settings or preferences menu for this. All too often we have no choice but to punch out (even if it’s just to avoid getting weird looks from the artist or client), and a lot of times those punch outs need to be fine tuned to the next clip. The pre-record “fix” is a messy way to accomplish something so basic, i think.

It happened to me that i punched out a few milliseconds earlier, and even with crossfading you could still hear a bit of weirdness. You can imagine my utter shock when i found out that THAT was the end of the clip, nothing more follows.

Seriously, yes, please, steinberg, this is a MUST.