How to monitor MIDI controller message values?

Hi All

I’m quite new to Cubase (using v6.5) and this is my first post. I searched the manual and this site but couldn’t find an answer. How can I monitor incoming MIDI message values without actually recording it? I need to view the input data values of a MIDI controller in setting up Expression maps. The Cubase transport merely indicated that MIDI messages are sent, but not what those values are. Any help would be most appreciated.

Tom

Try using the included Midi Monitor plugin.

…thanks for the reply Split. Does this mean that I would need to create a track to be able to invoke the Midi Monitor plug in, or can it run independently? I’ve also managed to install a free 3rd party vsti that does the equivalent, and takes up less screen real estate.

Since this a Cubase forum, he thought you were asking how to do it in Cubase. It is not stand alone. MIDI-OX and MIDI Yoke are a couple of utilities you can use. Not sure what you found stand alone.

…I apologise for any confusion. What I meant was, to be able to run the plugin in Cubase without having to create a track first to assign it to. However I get the impression that this is not possible. I find it a little odd that a way to monitor MIDI data values on input is not something inbuilt into the GUI.

1 Like

Why is that odd? It is a recording/edit/mix program. It records/edits and mixes. It has MIDI tracks, which you can monitor. What’s so odd about that?

Why is that odd? It is a recording/edit/mix program. It records/edits and mixes. It has MIDI tracks, which you can monitor. What’s so odd about that?