How to set initial window layout?

Does anybody know how to set up which windows (MixConsole, Transport, etc.) get opened when the program is first launched? And how to have the active project workspace save and reopen when the project is saved and reopened?

I always mix with the mixer fullscreen on monitor 2, with no other windows open. Yet, no matter what I do with workspaces, EVERY FLURBING TIME I restart the program and reopen the project, the transport panel is open and the mixer is gone. Why are my settings not getting saved/restored?? This was never an issue for me pre-v7.

(And–possibly related–does anyone know how to include full-screen MixConsole in a Workspace preset? It only seems to work when it’s a non-fullscreen subwindow of the stupid MDI parent window…)

+1

I would love to know the answer to this as well.

I just use my hot key on my Nektar controller to bring up the mixer but it’s still rather annoying,‘’

C7 newbie here, and I’d like to say that I find the manual really lacking when it comes to talking about window management. I can’t get the different midi editors to open in a separate window. There must be something elementary that I’m missing.

Ideally I’d like to have a window set with the project window on monitor 1 & Score editor on monitor 2. Am I asking too much? :open_mouth:

Same here. Workspaces is one of the many annoyances in C7 dual monitor setups, they don’t seem to like working properly after being saved with a project.

Hope they will in .06 along with improved main/second monitor focus issues.

Cubase is one of those things where–at any given time in its development–it does 40,000 things really well, and about ten things really poorly. Window management is one of the ten things, and has been for a while.