How to set "Play As Written"

Hello I’m wondering if I can ask for some help with something that is not very clear to me.

What I want to do is record music into a part with a MIDI controller but then have it played back “as written”. As is now, Dorico will transcribe my MIDI input to set quantization limits but will still play my horribly sloppy performance back at me when I listen. I seem to remember in Sibelius there was just a single button to toggle “Play As Written”.
I’m pretty new to Dorico and trying to figure out how to do this. The method(s) I’ve found so far to set this seem kind of vague… like sort of workarounds to me.
Maybe I am missing something? Any pro tips and/or tricks would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you so much!

Try selecting the notes and removing playback overrides - by default Dorico keeps your recorded played durations, as this allows you to have the option of subtle differences in performance with a neater notated version.

Are you saying you want to quantize the playback to reflect the written notation? That is possible. If so, check out some of these links.

Thank you very much for your replies.

Ah, remove playback overrides.

This was the solution I had found on my own but I was confused by the meaning of the phrase “removing playback overrides”. It seems to me to be something you’d do to undo the action made to force Dorico to play something as written. i.e. stop overriding the original MIDI file.

In my mind the MIDI file I created when recording into Dorico was the foundation of the part. Dorico transcribes it as close as it can within limits and writes it up in a part. It still plays it back the exact same way that I recorded it which is good because preserving the original performance could be important. In this case, having Dorico play the part back “as written” to me was how you’d be overriding the playback.