How to set up my Korg Kronos with Cubase?

I recently purchased Cubase elements 6, making the jump from Audacity.

I’m currently using a Korg Kronos and I was wondering how to properly set it up to work with Cubase. I’d like to record the sounds that are produced on the Kronos directly into cubase. I’m a little new to the whole music production world so I’m not sure exactly how to go about this (I’m borrowing this Kronos from a friend.) Currently I only have a USB cable to connect to the computer, so I’d use the Kronos as an Audio Interface.

So far, I’ve gotten the Kronos to interact as MIDI with Cubase, but I’m not getting the sounds I want. I’m not sure if it’s even possible to do what I’m trying to do (Record the kronos patches directly into cubase as editable MIDI?)

Thanks for any help, sorry for my ignorance.

You can´t record the Kronos sounds as MIDI, since MIDI is no sound. If you want the Kronos sounds, you have to record the audio output, while the Kronos can be triggered by MIDI.

I do this all the time with Logic.

That’s because CoreAudio will take a class compliant USB audio device (which the Kronos is) and use it at low latency. But, the reason I USE Logic on that machine, is because Steinberg sticks with their decades old ASIO standard. I didn’t even load anything-plugged in the USB and tell logic to use “kronos sound” and “kronos MIDI”.

The best bet for Windows is to load up ASIO4All and see what kind of latency numbers you can get.

That being said…

Record the kronos patches directly into cubase as editable MIDI?

Then you just want to record MIDI, which should work fine on Windows. It’s audio where the OS APIs differ so greatly.

I also just bought a Korg Kronos to use with my Cubase 7.
Korg says that you can use it as a I/O soundcard to your DAW, and that was my purpose to buiyng it.
But to my surprise I discovered that Korg dont have any ASIO drivers for Korg Kronos.
You have to use ASIO4ALL to record the sounds from Kronos into Cubase.