How to setup background after piano to fill the space?

Hi,

Can somebody explain how to get a sound behind piano as in this composition?

I put reverb but it is not enough to fill the space:

Any suggestions to make a softer piano and reverb to be longer and not muddy?

Thank you!

In the examples, a reverb could have been used that filters the reverb tail according to the incoming notes and thereby prevents muddling.
The Adaptiverb from Zynaptic has such a mode (“Harmonic Filter Mode”)
zynaptiq: ADAPTIVERB

1 Like

Thank you PAT for a quick answer.
I wonder in the original example - is it only a reverb that goes after the piano (sometimes 2-3 sec long to fill the space) or there is some kind of pad as well.
I am a beginner and can not tell a difference. Also, can you help where I should start to learn about using these kinds of reverbs?
Anyway ADAPTIVERB sounds amazing!

Of course, I can’t say how the sound in the video examples was actually created.
With a rather dark piano sound and the Adaptiverb one could achieve something similar.
In addition to the algorithmically generated reverb, Adaptiverb can generate a kind of pad sound from the incoming signal.
The best thing to do is to download the trial version, then you can test the plugin for 30 days free of charge. Sometimes Adaptiverb can be bought in a sale, I got it for half the price some time ago.

If you are looking for a suitable piano sound, this one is available for free:
1928 Vintage Grand Steinway – Soundpaint

1 Like

You could also use a soft pad in the background