Importing Cycle Markers?

I’m new to Cubase, and on day 10 of my 60-day free trial of Pro 12. Regarding Markers and Regions/Ranges/Cycle Markers, I’ve found that Cubase can’t import standard Marker/Region data contained in WAV files, unlike both Cakewalk (which unfortunately renumbers/renames them?) and Reaper (which imports them perfectly). This seems like a huge exclusion. Bummer.

OK, so manual says I can import Marker data in MIDI files. Seems very round-a-bout, but, OK, I’m new here. So I create a new Cubase project, create a marker track with a few Markers and a couple of Cycle Markers and a single empty MIDI track (just so I can export Markers…). I export MIDI file making sure Markers is set in the Export Options.

I then open another Cubase project and Import the MIDI File and the Markers were indeed imported. However, all Cycle Markers were converted to position Markers and all Range/Duration information was lost. Really?

Somebody PLEASE tell me I’m missing something, and not that Cubase can’t even import it’s own Marker exports correctly! Can you really not import Cycle Markers?

File->Import->Tracks from Project. Browse to the project file that contains the markers you want to import, then in the following dialog check the marker track.

I’ve found that Cubase can’t import standard Marker/Region data contained in WAV files

I’m talking about markers in a standard WAV file, not part of a Cubase project, as well as Cubase not being able to import Cycle Markers from its own exports.

Don’t know about markers in wav files, but Cubase can import its own cycle markers with the way I described. It cannot do so from importing MIDI file, because MIDI marker events are points in time, not time ranges, so the best Cubase can do when exporting to a standard MIDI file is to convert cycle markers to “regular” marker events. It’s a lossy conversion, of course, but there is not much Cubase can do about it.