Importing Music XML of Drumset Music does not work

Hi all,

I am a longtime Sib user but wanting to check out Dorico because I am pretty unhappy about a few things in Sib, especially when it comes to writing drum scores. I am a drummer, so 90% of my scores are drum scores.

I just downloaded the Demo version of Dorcio and am trying to import some of my Sib files that I converted into MusicXML, however, once I try to open them in Dorico all notes appear on the middle line of the drum stave.

Am I doing something wrong?

I also tried to write some new drumscores but it is the same thing here. Every note I try to input appears of the middle line of the stave.

Is there some kind of magic trick that I’m missing?

No, I’m afraid not: there’s basically no good support for drum set notation in Dorico just yet. This is one of the high priority areas we will be working on soon.

Oh, I see.

Will you guys add this before my 30 Day trial ends (just started it today)?

Can I make suggestions on features that would be nice to have for notating drums that I am missing in Sib?

I’m afraid it’s highly unlikely we’ll be able to add comprehensive support for percussion notation before your 30 day trial expires.

But you are very welcome to give your suggestions about how you would like percussion to work.

OK.

Can you give any information on when that will be added? Like early next year, late next year or 2018?

Here are some of my suggestions for drumset notation - maybe it would be a nice thing to have a dedicated thread for this, so that other people might join in. Notating drums is very different at times from “classical” notation, so my guess would be that quite a few drummers out there are searching for ways to make it simple, intuitive and fast.

These are all things coming from using Sibelius.